Melt-In-Your-Mouth Mocha Truffles

Hi there!

Tomorrow is my last day of finals week.

(That feels so good to say). 

Tomorrow is my last day of finals week.

(Just wanted to hear it again).

Despite the fact that I have studied more this week than the rest of my life combined, I still managed to find some time to do some cooking.  Actually, I did a lot of cooking.  I may have to take a week off from making food so I can catch up on all the things I want to blog about.

Anyway, today I wanted to make something for Fritz’s dental class (hi!).  They have a big test tomorrow and since it’s Christmas time, I thought it would be fun to try some new really-bad-for-you-but-so-fun-to-make recipes.  Not to mention that these are the guys that you can really trust to brush their teeth after eating all this junk…right?

I didn’t want to make your standard Christmas cookie (I needed a long, challenging recipe for better procrastination purposes), so I settled on these Mocha Melt Truffles.  They literally do melt in your mouth.  It’s pretty cool.

Mocha Melt Truffles (adapted from “Coffee Creams” from A Passion For Chocolate)

  • 2 C sugar
  • 1/4 C skim milk
  • 2 T instant mocha mix (or even just 1 T instant coffee–I just used what we had)
  • 1 T light-colored corn syrup
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 16 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 3 T Smart Balance

Combine the sugar, water, milk, corn syrup, and mocha mix in a large saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally until it’s boiling steadily at 234-240 degrees, about 20-25 minutes.  This is the “soft ball stage”.

When it reaches the right temperature, remove from heat and cool without stirring until the mixture reaches 110 degrees.  It will look like a thick, sticky caramel.  Add the vanilla and stir until it becomes very thick and starts to lose its gloss.  Immediately shape into balls and place on wax paper.  I used my hands–it cooled down quickly when you stir it!

This stuff is the weirdest texture ever.  It hardens into what looks like maple sugar, but the heat of your hand melts it into a malleable semi-solid, which hardens quickly as soon as it cools.  If you ever used to put cornstarch and water into a baggie when you were a kid and marvel about the weird liquid/solid state, this is kind of like that.

Leave these to harden for about 20 minutes.  Meanwhile, melt the chocolate and the shortening together in the microwave (or do it the right way in a double boiler.  Or don’t.)  This sounds insane, but it’s the easiest way to do it (I quickly realized)–scoop some chocolate into your hands, and roll a mocha-ball around in your hands until it’s covered in chocolate.  In a feat of amazing coincidence, the Pioneer Woman posted about truffles today too, and she does it the same way!  Lay back down on wax paper and cool until solid (I left them for a few hours while I did laundry).

If you are anything like me, and you’ve licked clean any surface that came into contact with the chocolate by this point, even the thought of adding more chocolate to these babies is going to make you ill.  But this is the best part–roll the truffles in unsweetened dutch cocoa powder.  Just the tiny bit of bitterness offsets the ridiculous sweetness of the truffles–and it looks awesome.

These were a little time-consuming, but definitely worth it.  Hopefully the baby dentists will enjoy a bit of chocolate/coffee heaven after their test tomorrow.

Before I go, I want to share one last photo.  I think Henry has realized that we are starting to get ready to go to Canada for a while, and that he is going to be left behind.  He doesn’t like that at all, so he’s starting a campaign to try to subliminally get us to want to take him with us:

It’s hard to resist those big green eyeballs.

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts

3 responses to “Melt-In-Your-Mouth Mocha Truffles

  1. Hannah

    #1 Henry is ADORABLE. Love my grand-kitties.
    #2 What is “Smart Balance” and why are you using it? Have we taught you nothing? (Apparently the “Smart” in it doesn’t work)

    • haha he is adorable. 2) I use it because I bake too often to buy very expensive butter. so RELAX I know its not actually better for me and nor does it taste better. Besides this recipe actually said to use shortening/margarine

  2. These look amazing! Love truffles. Great gift idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

