Chicken and Brown Rice Soup

Remember that Sunday roasted chicken from a few days ago?  Well, it has since been further immortalized in an-almost classic chicken noodle soup form.  I wanted to make it just the teeniest bit healthier, so I substituted brown rice for egg noodles, cooked it a bit longer, and voila!  Still classic, but with an unprocessed edge.

As I’m sure many of you know, my finals week starts on Monday.  That means that I’ve been doing an unusual amount of studying, and therefore I am extra miserable and will most likely being doing copious amounts of cooking to make up for it.  However, Christmas is coming and soon I’ll be going to Alberta, CA to see Fritz’s family–and that thought is what sustains me.  That, and the fact that as of December 18th, I will have more than a month off from school.

That’s right.  A MONTH OFF!  It’s like being in undergrad again…and I love it.

Back to Chicken and Brown Rice Soup

  • 6-8 C chicken broth (I made my own with the roasted chicken leftovers.  So worth it.)
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 C chopped carrots
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 1/2 C brown rice
  • 1/4 t salt, pepper to taste
  • 4 sprigs dried thyme (or fresh!)
  • 1/2 t dried parsley

First order of business is to start the broth.  After removing whatever edible meat I could find on the chicken, I submerged the bones in about 6 cups water, added a sprinkle of salt, some dried thyme, and 2 bay leaves and let it simmer for about 45 minutes.  I didn’t take any pictures of this, because it’s really difficult to make a drowned chicken carcass look appetizing…but you can use your imagination!  When I was ready to use the broth, I strained it to get rid of any undesirable pieces before adding it into the soup.

The rest of the soup is a piece of cake.  Chop the celery, carrots, and onion, and saute them over medium high heat in a T of canola oil until they are softened.  Add the rest of the ingredients, and cook over medium heat for a few minutes, until the rice is starting to brown (to get that nutty flavor I love in rice!).  Add the chicken broth (and however much water you need to fully cover everything, with an inch or so of liquid at the top), and bring to a boil. 

Cover and simmer until the rice is fully cooked, about 40 minutes.  Season with salt to taste, and spoon into giant bowls (that might just be me–I was hungry!).  Grate fresh black pepper over the top and eat up!

Perfect for a scary week of finals preparation.

Because we are leaving to go to Canada in a few weeks, Fritz and I did some research to figure out what to do with Henry.  After realizing how obnoxious it would be to drop him off at Eber’s house for the week (that involves carrying Henry and all of his accessories–he’s like a Barbie–onto the train and into the city and back), we decided to buy an automatic feeder.  It came in the mail a few days ago, and Henry immediately knew what it was.  How are cats so smart?

He’s been lingering around it ever since, trying to will it into action with the power of positive thinking.

Coming up soon (maybe tomorrow, depending on how much procrastination I need to catch up on), is an amazing recipe, perfect for Christmas gifts!  Sadly, it’s not good for your body, but it’s the best for your spirit–and I’ve eaten it nonstop since yesterday morning. 

Curious?

4 Comments

Filed under Soups/Stews

4 responses to “Chicken and Brown Rice Soup

  1. Hannah

    I’m impressed by the extra step of straining the broth. I may have to add that – it makes a much prettier soup (although the rice instead of noodles probably helps too).

  2. Your chicken soup would be great on a cold day like today!

  3. Pingback: Chicken Adobo Soup « A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

