Granola Muffins with Raspberry Preserves

I love that feeling after you spend three hours deep cleaning your one bedroom apartment when you sit on the couch and everything smells so. clean.  It’s just so nice knowing that I don’t have to think about vacuuming for at least another week, until it will begin to haunt the fringes of my thoughts–and then I will put it off again for as long as possible until another day like today.

Better yet is the feeling that I don’t have class tomorrow.  That almost makes up for the fact that I have barely started studying for my upcoming Ortho final (which is on Monday), and will have to dedicate the weekend to my scholarly aspirations.  Luckily, my dad’s coworker gave me a large stack of food magazines, so I have ample distraction already lined up.

Yesterday’s distraction?

Granola Muffins with Raspberry Preserves (from A Kitchen Safari) 

  • 250 ml cake flour (1 C all-purpose)
  • 10 ml baking powder (2 t)
  • 2 ml salt (1/2 t)
  • 5 ml cinnamon (1 t)
  • 125 ml whole-wheat flour (1/2 C)
  • 80 ml granola (a little over 1/3 C)
  • 60 ml dark brown sugar (1/4 C + 1 T)
  • 125 ml melted unsalted butter (1/2 C)
  • 125 ml milk (1/2 C skim)
  • 80 ml raspberry preserves (1 t per muffin)

Glaze

  • 60 ml brown sugar (1/4 C + 1 T)
  • 60 ml granola (heaping 1/4 C)
  • 2 ml ground cinnamon (1/2 t)
  • 30 ml unsalted butter (2 T smart balance)

As you can see, these are probably the least healthy thing I have made since I started blogging.  I made them for the small group we had planned today, because I felt bad I always make healthy snacks, but it was canceled so now we have too many unhealthy (but so delicious!) muffins.  Although, for a baked good, these definitely aren’t that bad for you.

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees C (350 degrees F) and line muffin tins with paper cups and set aside.  Combine the dry muffin ingredients, make a well, and add the wet ingredients, except for the preserves.  Mix.

Fill 1/3 of each muffin cup, and add 1 t of raspberry preserves to each center.

Top with the remaining muffin mix.  As an aside, you can also add 1 t cottage cheese to each muffin–which I definitely would have done if I had it on hand.  I love cottage cheese.

Make the glaze by combining all the ingredients in a small bowl.  Gently spoon over the tops of the muffins.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until “nicely browned”, whatever that means. Actually, you’ll know.  They really do look…nicely browned.

Yum.  By far the best part of these little gems (aside from the crunchy, buttery top), is the sweet and tangy middle where the raspberry preserve has just melted into the muffin in a way that was definitely invented in heaven.

I also made lamb curry a few days ago:

I served it over brown rice with chickpeas.  Fritz liked it, but he had craved lamb curry for a few weeks and this wasn’t exactly the taste he was looking for.  I used tamarind paste (which I could eat with a spoon–weird, huh?), and I think that took it in a different direction than he was looking for.  Anyone out there got a good lamb curry recipe for me to try?  I’ve requested his mom’s recipe, because I know that will be the taste he’s been craving.

I’m off to go study for an hour before bed!  Ta-ta!

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts

3 responses to “Granola Muffins with Raspberry Preserves

  1. Michelle Sieburg

    I can’t wait to try this one, La. Tried the buttermilk rye bread recipe yesterday, it was yummy! Keep the great recipes coming!

  2. YUM…these were oh so good. Jeff ate one this morning, and I’m planning on eating mine tomorrow morning! Thanks for always having yummy treats for us 🙂

Leave a Reply

