Bowl O’ Steel-Cut Oats

First off, I’d like to apologize for the lackluster quality of some of my pictures lately.  The lighting in my parent’s house, combined with my less-than-stellar camera and the gloomy weather all week didn’t end up being the best of conditions.  Not to mention that it gets darks at 4:00 now.  Sorry! 

But we will press on regardless. Today is Meatless Monday, but nothing too exciting was created today because I had to go grocery shopping after class and didn’t have the time nor energy for anything with more than two steps.  We had whole wheat thin spaghetti with a (homemade) tomato sauce with onions, garlic, a tad bit of brown sugar, oregano, and basil.  Not too shabby, although I will admit I pretended to turn a blind eye when Fritz snuck a few turkey meatballs into his bowl.  Men.  You just can’t trust ’em.

Henry wanted to have a little taste:

In other cooking news, I’ve recently discovered a new favorite breakfast food: steel-cut oats.  Unlike rolled oats, they don’t just feel mushy; more along the lines of creamy but still chewy–yum!  They are also very filling and best of all: good for you!

Steel-Cut Oats (serves four)

  • 1 C steel-cut oats
  • 3 1/2 C water
  • 1/2 C milk
  • any toppings you want to try!

We bought these at Wegmans in the bulk section (a great place to be).  Bring the water to boil in a sauce pot and add the oats.  Reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer (stirring occasionally) for about 30 minutes, or until creamy.  Add the milk and continue to simmer until the desired consistency.

I added cinnamon for the first batch

When it looks so good that people you don’t even know are crowding around your kitchen in their bathrobes, it’s time.  Pick your toppings (and be creative).

First time, I had cinnamon, dates, and a tiny bit of brown sugar:

the dates were so sweet that extra sugar wasn't really necessary

 The second time around, I chose to go with a dash of maple syrup and banana slices:

That was a good combo.  I think tomorrow’s bowl may involve the last of my pumpkin butter, or maybe apple and coconut.  So many options, so little time…

So, because I miss my family (I’ve been away from them for a whole day!) I thought I’d post a few other Thanksgiving adventures.  On Black Friday Mom, Jordi and I braved the crowds and did some crack-of-dawn shopping (okay, we actually left the house at 11:00 am).

Sometime in the past few years, Jordi got very cool:

not quite sure when it happened...

One of the stores we ventured into was Joanne’s Fabrics, where we found some beautiful fabric, a pattern, and all the trimmings for a nominal fee of around $10!  Very exciting.

The next morning, the entire family was struck with a stomach virus, and we all spent the day puking.  Mom, who appeared the have the strongest immune system, seemed the most healthy (or is that just least whiny?), and she mananged to whip up this amazing little number for me!

She is a talented woman, isn’t she?  Don’t judge my looks there, I had spent the entire day in four layers of sweat pants and blankets, laying on the couch moaning piteously.  And then the dress came and changed my life.

If only I had a fancy Christmas party to go to that didn’t cost $72 a person (*cough* physical therapy formal *cough*).

C’est la vie.

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

4 responses to “Bowl O’ Steel-Cut Oats

  1. Hannah

    🙂 Steel cut oats are also a great mild food to add to the “brat” diet. Funny, it becomes the borat diet.

  2. That dress is adorable!!! Your mom is one talented gal 🙂 Let’s have our own formal…

  3. Pingback: Sweetheart Steel-Cut Oats for Two « A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

