Coconut Date Banana Bread

I’ll be honest.  I didn’t make this today.  I actually made it a few days ago, but I saved the blog post for this week because I knew I’d be busy (I’m home in Syracuse for the week for Thanksgiving).  I was right!  Mom, Dad, Fritz and I did a lot of shopping for the big meal tomorrow (and some thrift store shopping too, just ’cause we wanted to), and then Jordi and I did a lot of cooking.  I’ve also done about 5,632,396 loads of (free) laundry and basically made my parents’ once-clean house a giant mess.   We’ll have to fix that tomorrow before our guests come over.

But for now, while my vast quantity of food pictures from today are downloading, I’ll take advantage of my previously saved and edited pictures.  And this banana bread is delectable.  I’ve come a long way from Bisquick banana bread–and I’m glad.  It’s a good change.

Coconut Date Banana Bread (adapted from Coconut-Banana Bread from Bernard Clayton’s New Complete Book of Breads)

  • 1 C flaked unsweetened coconut
  • 1/4 C Smart Balance
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 3 T skim milk
  • 1 t lemon juice
  • 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t each baking soda and salt
  • 1 C mashed ripe bananas (about 2 bananas)
  • heaping 1/3 C dates, chopped

Grease a large loaf pan and pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  First order of business is to toast the coconut.  Spread it into a thin layer on a baking sheet.

Toast in the oven for five-ten minutes, checking periodically because you don’t want to let it burn!  They go from brown to black really quickly, so keep an eye out!

How good does that look?  Your kitchen will begin to smell amazing at this point.  Leave the oven on.

In a large bowl or mixer with the flat beater, cream the butter and sugar together.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the milk, vanilla extract, and lemon juice.

Add the baking powder and soda, salt and sugar.  Mix in the flour and blend thoroughly.

Work in the bananas–I cut them and let the beater fully mash them, but that’s because I’m lazy.  You should probably mash them first.

Next, fold in the dates and coconut.  Reserve some coconut to sprinkle on top.

Finally, pour the batter into the prepared bread pan and level the top.  Sprinkle on the reserved coconut and get excited! 

Bake on a middle rack until browned and a wooden skewer inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean, about an hour.  Let the bread cool in the pan for ten minutes, then remove and finish cooling on a wire rack before serving.

May I suggest topping it with some pumpkin butter?  No, really.  Do it.

Fritz and I are dusting off our dancing shoes and going out on the town with my good friend Jamie from high school.  Hopefully I won’t be too sleepy early tomorrow morning because I am so excited for Thanksgiving!  I have no idea how I will document the day for this blog, but what happens, happens–I do know that I will have to awaken in the wee hours of the morning to catch Dad starting on the turkey.  I am playing only a small role in the actual cooking (a few side dishes), but I’ll make sure to photograph everything.  What are you in charge of for Thanksgiving this year?

2 Comments

Filed under Breads, Breakfast

2 responses to “Coconut Date Banana Bread

  1. This looks absolutely delicious! I have a go to basic banana cake recipe but absolutely love coconut so think I might well try this one out next time some squiffy bananas are lurking on the worktop 🙂 will let you know if i do!

Leave a Reply

