Cranberry Flaxseed Scones

Hi friends!  It’s Thursday…which means the weekend is almost here!  Fritz and I have a busy pretty and very fun weekend plan, which involves sleepovers, cooking, and Harry Potter.  So many things I like!

Yesterday I made cranberry flaxseed scones, and as I type this there are three left.  I made 16.  Nancy Drew might need to come around here and do some investigating because no one is taking the credit for their mysterious disappearance.  Although, yesterday I ate two–and I brought one to school and I gave one to Lola…you know what?  I might know where they went.

And that, my friends, is why I try to bake healthily.  Because I want to make food that I can eat without feeling (too) guilty; food that is good for my belly and my spirit.  And these scones definitely fit the bill.  They have that light and buttery scone taste with some serious cranberry tang.

Cranberry Flaxseed Scones (inspired by this recipe)

  • heaping 1/2 C fresh cranberries, mixed with 2 t honey 
  • 1 1/2 C all-purpose flour (it is a scone, after all)
  • 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 C lightly packed brown sugar
  • 6 T butter, chilled and cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 C skim milk plus 1-2 T if needed
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/8 C ground flaxseed

Cut the larger cranberries in half, leave the smaller ones whole and drizzle with honey to sweeten.

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with canola oil.  Mix together the flours, baking powder, salt and sugar.  Add the butter and blend until it resembles coarse crumbs.  Don’t overmix scone dough or it gets tough and heavy.

see those coarse crumbs?

Add the milk, vanilla, and flaxseed and mix until just blended.  Mix in those cranberries!

Divide the dough in half and set aside one portion.  Pat the remaining dough into a circle on a floured board.

Next, cut four times into eight wedges with a sharp knife.

Repeat with the other half of the dough, and alternate the wedges on the baking sheet.

Place into the middle rack of the oven and bake until lightly golden, about fifteen minutes.  Let them cool on a wire rack.

Once they are cool enough, take them outside to photograph because there’s not enough light in your house, even though it’s only 4:30.  Or just eat them.

It got chilly out there!  But I took out some of the pumpkin butter I had leftover from the pumpkin bars I made last week, and it went perfectly.  I couldn’t believe how good the combination was!  Such a holiday snack.

I hope you get a chance to make these because they are truly delicious.  My next project involves fennel, which I’ve heard so much about but never tasted.  I have some in the fridge, so give me some ideas!  What have you made with fennel?

15 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Desserts

15 responses to “Cranberry Flaxseed Scones

  1. Hannah

    fennel = licorice so not my favorite. However, I DO want to know what a busy pretty weekend is? I think I’ll get cranberries so I can make scones along with the rusk. Mmmm. See you soon!

  2. I love scones. Especially scones with cranberries. EVEN MORE SO with pumpkin butter.

    I’ve been shying away from fennel because of the licorice factor, but I’m wondering if I should man up and give it a try. People always rave about fennel.

    • Me too–but I’ve been reading about it and it seems like when it’s cooked, the flavor is less intense and more like onions, which I think I’ll like a lot. I think that I’ll try grilling it (disguise that licorice even more!) probably on Tues, and then I’ll make sure to write about what it was like!

  3. janemaynard

    love cranberries! love scones! thanks for the post! jane

  4. Hi Lauren,
    Yesterday your dad mentioned your blog at a meeting we both attended. Your photos are fab! Those scones look incredibly good. I’ve enjoyed perusing your recipes!
    Deb

  5. Pingback: Cranberry Flaxseed Scones (via A Full Measure of Happiness) « Raw Sugar

  6. This recipe looks great, and I’m digging the yoga mat backdrop.. It really brings the photos to life. I’ll have to give the yoga mat, and scones a try!

    Fennel is good in a salad or slaw.. the licorice’y taste goes well with citrus like oranges. Also great grilled or roasted with olive oil and balsamic.

  7. I love scones and love this healthy alternative. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  8. Pingback: Thankful for: Imagination « The Patriotic Baker

  9. Mmm the pumpkin butter sounds like a great addition!

Leave a Reply

