Chili in a Pumpkin Bowl

For some reason, Sundays always feel way shorter than Saturdays do.  I think it’s that impending doom of Monday and knowing that my remaining free time is growing shorter…and shorter…

Plus I still have to do my ortho homework.

But before I do that, I’m gonna blog about the delicious dinner that I made tonight.  It was a beautiful fall day and I thought it would be a perfect time to make chili–and then put it inside a pumpkin!  I bought two small baking pumpkins a few weeks ago for decorative purposes, and I thought it was finally time to put them to good use.  And Fritz was happy with that idea.

Pumpkin Bowl Chili

  • small baking pumpkins
  • 1/2 pound ground turkey or beef (I actually used leftover steak and ground it in a food processor)
  • 2-3 C red kidney beans
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 2 T chili powder
  • 1 t red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

First order of business is to get your pumpkin bowls ready.  Buy pumpkins that are made for baking so the pumpkin is of eating quality and not just carving quality.

Cut off the tops–make the opening wide enough to easily scoop your chili out of the bottom of the bowl.  You don’t want chili all over your hands, do you?  Then scoop out the seeds and set them aside for future roasting (or throw them away.  Whatever).

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Oil the inside and the edges of the pumpkins with a bit of olive oil to keep it from drying while baking.  Put them in a glass pan, and pour 2-3 C of water around the bottom of the pumpkins.  Let them bake for about 45-60 minutes, or until soft.

You can make the chili while the pumpkin is baking.  Cook the onions and peppers over medium heat in 2 T of canola oil until they are soft and the onions are translucent.

Next, add the meat and stir frequently.  When the meat is completely cooked through, add the beans and tomatoes.  Lower the heat and summer on low, adding the spices to taste (I like chili hot! hot! hot!).

By now, your pumpkins should be finished baking.  Test ’em with a knife and make sure they are soft.  Let them cool enough to handle.

Fill the bowls with chili, add a sprinkle of cheddar and voila!  Delicious!  When you are eating, scrape the side and bottom of the bowl to pick up a bite of pumpkin with each spoonful–it’s even better with the pumpkin.

This is an incredibly hearty meal, and you probably won’t finish a whole bowl.  Even Fritz couldn’t quite make it–but chili is even better the second day, and that’s why we love leftovers!

We also had a great salad today for lunch–trying to eat more raw veggies everyday.  Iceberg lettuce (which I normally hate), chickpeas, diced apple, walnuts, unsweetened coconut chips, leftover pork, and some balsamic vinegar.  I actually enjoyed eating it–and I’m not normally a big salad fan.

Remember how yesterday I went into the city to visit Bre and Eber? It was such a nice trip.  Bre and I went to an Australian bar/restaurant for lunch (and a glass of wine, obviously), then shopped in a few stores before we got some tea and headed over to Bryant Park where we met Eber.  It was so nice just to be in a beautiful city with such beautiful women on a beautiful day.

  
Already looking forward to the next time I see these ladies!  Tune in tomorrow for an update on Meatless Monday–17 bean soup edition!
5 Comments

Filed under Entrees

5 responses to “Chili in a Pumpkin Bowl

  1. Hannah

    smaller pics give it a magazine feel, and they are artfully arranged. If you want detail, can you click on the pictures to get them bigger? I didn’t try it, but that would be the only reason to have them huge. Less scrolling is good.

  2. This is such a clever idea! I’m dumping the ‘bread bowl’ and going to try something new – thanks for sharing.

  3. I’m liking the smaller pictures mainly because the blog now loads a little faster on my computer. With bigger picture, I can wash the dishes while I am waiting to be able to scroll. Love the pumpkin bowls by the way. I am hosting a foreigner Thanksgiving dinner on the 27th and if I can find “edible” pumpkins, I just might steal the idea. It’s a taller order than I am can probably imagine though. Miss you and love the blog!

    • Thanks, I think I like it better too–I was never sure if it was just my internet or the pictures being too big 🙂 Plus, it’s way faster to upload them to the blog, so I win there too! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Herbs–Garden Edition | A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

