Good Mornin’ Granola

My sister Erin has mentioned to me that she wants me to post Tharrie’s muesli recipe because she has longed for a large Tupperware of nuts, fruit, oats, and honey to wake up to.  This morning I woke up early already thinking of something healthy and tasty to go with my yogurt this and thought to myself, “Maybe today is the day for muesli!”

Well, I’m sorry Erin. I looked up Tharrie’s recipe and I didn’t have the right ingredients–but I did have enough lying around to make a muesli-inspired granola!  Since we’ve started eating plain Greek yogurt (constantly), I like to add a little crunch on top to mix up the already thick texture.  We usually have granola in the house because Fritz is totally obsessed enjoys an occasional bowl, but there’s always a ridiculous amount of added sugar and other weird ingredients I don’t recognize that I can only assume are added to lengthen its shelf life.  Now that I’m trying to “eat food” (meaning whole, real food ingredients), I decided what better thing to do than make my own!

Also, why does granola cost about $39,568 a pound?  It’s probably much cheaper to make my own anyway.

Good Mornin’ Granola

(Please give me a little leeway with these ingredients–I eyeballed the measurements, and plus, I was just makin’ this whole thing up anyway)

  • 1 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C raw almonds
  • 1/2 C  raw walnuts
  • 2 T ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 C shredded coconut
  • 1/4 C apple juice
  • 2 T honey

Pre-heat the oven to 275 degrees.  Pulse the nuts in a food processor until broken up into large pieces (don’t over process into crumbs–you want the texture of big chunks).

Next, combine all the dry ingredients.

Admire.  Then add the apple juice and the honey.  I started with one T of honey and drizzled a little more over until the ingredients were clumping together.

Mix the ingredients thoroughly, then spread out on a glass pan or metal baking sheet.  Leave some clumps for your own chewing satisfaction.

Bake on a middle rack for about half an hour, or until brown and crispy.  Every 5-8 minutes, use a spatula to check, turn and mix the granola–you don’t want the nuts to burn!  Remove and let cool in the pan.  You can then store in an air-tight container for a week…but it probably won’t last that long.

We sprinkled the granola over plain greek yogurt and added apple slices, raisins, and a bit of brown sugar (but the sugar is not necessary, it’s sweet enough to eat alone).  Fritz was very pleased with the results!

That’s the kind of breakfast you should eat before you spend the day in the city, meeting up with some of your favorite women for lunch and coffee (or tea).  What lucky girl gets to do that today?

Me! It’s me!  I’m going to take the train in about an hour to see my good friend Breanna for a few hours, and then I’ll even get to meet up with Eber on her hour break from work in Bryant Park for some delightfully hot beverages.  Which I probably won’t even want, because it’s supposed to be a high of 65 degrees today!

Might be the best day ever.

(Sorry Fritz).

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

4 responses to “Good Mornin’ Granola

  1. This is a cool receipe that I will definitely try. I also love the step by step instruction photos… Thank you for this receipe

  2. Hannah

    Thanks for the recipe…sometimes I add wheat germ and/or sesame seeds…or real maple syrup. May have to make some too!

Leave a Reply

