Best Breakfast: Greek Yogurt, Spelt, Flax and Pomegranate

Today was the first Tuesday in quite some time that I have had the entire morning off.  I didn’t even know what to do with myself!  Not only did I go to bed at 10 the night before, I didn’t wake up until 8:00!  That is ten, I repeat, ten hours of sleep.  So what is a girl to do other than make herself the most fabulous breakfast of all time?

So I did!

I rediscovered a container of spelt berries in my cupboard last night and put them on the stove to remind myself to make them.  Since I had enough time to cook them, I figured I’d combine them with yogurt and some of my other favorite foods for a energy-bursting and headache-busting kind of meal.

But first I had to have my tea.  Oolong, which I reserve for weekends and long mornings, because it just makes me so. happy.

Oh yes.  And I downloaded a new photo editor and I think you and I are going to see some amazing things!  But on to my breakfast.

Greek Yogurt with Spelt Berries, Flaxseed, and Pomegranate

  • 1/4 C spelt berries
  • 1/2 C water
  • 3/4 C plain greek yogurt
  • 1 T apricot jam (or any other flavor. or honey. or maple syrup)
  • 1/4 C fruit (I used pomegranate)
  • 1 T ground flax seeds

First, you need to cook the spelt berries.  I actually made a full cup of them, because I knew I’d use it later, but that serves four.  Combine the spelt and water in a saucepan and simmer over low heat until tender, about 45 minutes.  Taste ’em!  They’ll be al dente, which I love.

While those are cooking, take advantage of the extra time to peel your pomegranate.  They are kind of annoying to get all the fruit out of, but so, so worth it.  Just wear an apron or old clothes or something, ’cause you don’t want to get this juice all over your Sunday best.

Yes, it really looks that good in real life.

Once the spelt is done cooking (taste it and see! do you like it?), then drain the extra water and get everything ready to go.  We have had a near-empty jar of apricot jam in the fridge for what seems like 84 years, so I swirled what was left into my yogurt. Mmmm.

Then, combine everything together and enjoy.  You can let the spelt cool down if you want, but I actually liked the warm, chewy texture with the cool crunch of the pomegranate.  But it’s up to you.

I did some other baking today, too, but I’m gonna post it later tonight.  For now I want to go to the gym for a quick workout.

Let me know what you think of my new pictures!

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

4 responses to “Best Breakfast: Greek Yogurt, Spelt, Flax and Pomegranate

  1. LOOKS!
    SO!
    GOOD!

    I have never even HEARD of spelt berries before. I’m intrigued. You can add those to my *ahem* Christmas wish list. 🙂

    Also, hint: If you get pomegranate juice on anything (color or white) simply wet the spot with water and rub some baking soda over it. The spot will turn blue. Then pour boiling water over the spot and watch it vanish before your eyes. AMAZING! Just had to do this the other day because I got pomegranate juice on TWO of my NEW shirts (that, of course, were layered). As far as I know, this even works on “old” stains… but can’t say from experience.

    Love you! Keep blogging – and your photos look fantastic!! xxx ♥

    • Thanks Erie! I desperately needed that advice because I’ve been eating pomegranates nonstop since Meat Farms got them in stock…and therefore there is pomegranate juice all over my house haha. LOVE YOU! Thanks for commenting it’s nice to know who’s reading 🙂

  2. That’s all it takes, just a little effort, some forethought (to buy ingredients) to have a really tasty and healthy meal. Why is it that I find myself eating a piece of boring toast or (gasp!) a poptart on those desperate mornings??? Sigh. Please come home and be my chef.

    • well it helps (it really does) that since I injured my nerve and had to change my workouts and start eating a bit better I’ve lost a few pounds (like…ten!). and I definitely havent been eating less (in fact I ate an entire bag of reeses that you sent me) but I’ve been consistently eating differently. And seeing that is definitely an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

