In Defense of Food

Just a quick post before I’m off to bed.

I just started reading In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan, and so far I think it’s great.  Obviously I don’t find myself highly qualified for either literary analysis or scientific authenticity, but he has a way of saying an obvious fact in an illuminating way.  For instance:

That eating should be foremost about bodily health is a relatively new and, I think, destructive idea–destructive not just of the pleasure of eating, which would be bad enough, but paradoxically of our health as well.  Indeed, no people on earth worry more about the health consequences of their food choices than we Americans do–and no people suffer from as many diet-related health problems.  We are becoming a nation of orthorexics: people with an uhealthy obsession with healthy eating.

I love this, because I’ve always found that during the times in my life when I am the skinniest and eating “the best”, I am constantly dwelling on food, on my weight, on calories,and not to mention how I look.  My thoughts are so obsessed with restricting my intake to “healthy eating” that not only am I not getting any satisfaction out of any meals, but I can’t even enjoy the results of all that hard work.

It’s all about making a lifestyle change that you love and that you can stick with–and that’s not as hard as it sounds.  It’s only impossible if you try to convince yourself that you can live without the things you love.  And you shouldn’t!  You just need to learn to love different things.

Anyway, I’m off my soapbox for now.  I just get so excited when I’m reading a good book!

So as you go on your way this weekend, try to enjoy food in a healthy and happy way.  After all…it’s the weekend!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-food things I like

Leave a Reply

