Get Your Lentil On: Masoor Dahl (and drying herbs)

I love me some Indian food.  Fritz’s sister Eber bought us (well, me) a cookbook called complete indian cooking for a wedding gift and every single recipe I have made from it (and it has been quite a few) has been absolutely delicious.  I bought a couple of bags of dried lentils the other day, and I was in the mood to make something spicy yet comforting: masoor dahl.

I’ll let the book speak for itself for once:

“This spicy lentil dish…is high in nutrients as well as tasting delicious, so you can feel good about its benefits as well as enjoying its fantastic flavors.  Lentils are full of nutrients and have a high energy value.  They are rich in protein, carbohydrates, phosphorus, and iron, as well as the B vitamins.”

I love feeling good about my food, don’t you?

Masoor Dahl (adapted from complete indian cooking)

  • 2 T canola oil
  • 1 t cloves
  • 1/2 t freshly ground cardamom
  • 1″ cinnamon stick
  • 2 t ground ginger
  • 1/2 t red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 t garam masala
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 1/2 C lentils
  • 4 T lemon juice
  • salt to taste

Heat the oil in a pan over medium heat, and add the cloves, cinnamon, and cardamom and fry until fragrant.  Add the garlic, ginger, pepper flakes, and garam masala and cook for about five minutes.

Add the lentils, stir, and cook for one minute.

 Add salt to taste and enough water to come roughly 1 1/4″ above the lentils.  Bring to a boil, cover, and simmer for about half an hour until very thick and tender.

Meanwhile, I decided that to spice these lentils up I’d serve them in a roasted green bell pepper.  Halve the pepper, throw out the seeds, and place under the broiler until tender and browned.

When the lentils are tender, stir in the lemon juice and spoon into bell peppers.  Serve immediately.

Fritz was such a big fan of this meal that I had to stick another bell pepper in the oven so he could have seconds, and then a serving to bring to school for lunch tomorrow.

Speaking of Fritz and school, he has his first patient tomorrow!  I’m so excited for him–he says he’s not even nervous anymore because he is too overwhelmed trying to remember everything he has to do.  But I’m sure he will do amazingly well.  So good luck dental class!  If I had time between now and then I’d bake you a tooth cake (oh!! tooth cake pops! what a great idea!!), but I have to go do some homework myself.

I’ll leave you with a photo essay of my new accomplishment for the day.  This morning there was frost on the ground, and I knew I had to salvage whatever I could from my herb garden before everything dies.  I have waaay too much thyme and sage, so if you live near me and would like some to dry, please let me know!

what our herb garden looked like when it had just started growing

I am going to grab a few paper bags tomorrow when I go grocery shopping to put over the hangers so dust doesn’t collect in them, so hopefully they dry well.  I’m off to do some orthopedics homework, so have a beautiful night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Entrees, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

