Meatless Monday: Spaghetti Squash and Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

First, I’d like to thank my friends who said so many nice things about my blog today!  Thanks!  1) You make me blush; and 2) You make me want to blog instead of study even more!  So shall we?

A lot of people who read my blog and have witnessed my love affair with acorn squash have been telling me to make spaghetti squash.  I bought one about two weeks ago (don’t judge me–they last a long time in the fridge), and then my friend Cait made it on her blog, so I had to wait a week so I didn’t look like I was copying (just kidding!…I’m actually just lazy).  It was a long anticipated moment when I took that baby out of the oven, and it was my secret dream that I could fool Fritz into thinking he was eating man-food when he was actually eating lady-food, and we would live happily ever after with the vegetable part of our food pyramid finally growing larger than the carb and meat part.

I was so, so wrong.  Turns out neither of us really like spaghetti squash.  Bummer.

But just in case you do, I’ll post the recipe anyway.  I made it with my homemade pesto sauce that I took out of the freezer in two adorable individual serving-sized cubes.  Some people might not agree, but I like my squash to be sweet, not savory.  That combined with the weird crunchy yet wet texture of the squash itself just wasn’t my favorite.  I will try the leftover tomorrow with some cinnamon and nutmeg, and I’m fairly certain I’ll enjoy it–but it still won’t hold a candle to my first love, acorn squash (which, by the way, I called “walnut squash” as a kid).  And no, it doesn’t taste anything like spaghetti…but it does look awesome.

Spaghetti Squash with Pesto

  • 1 spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 C water

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.  Take out all the guts (seeds and stringy stuff), and set aside.  Place the squash cut side up in a baking dish, and lightly coat the inside with olive oil.  Pour the water in the dish to keep the squash from drying out, and bake on the middle rack until soft, about an hour.

Doesn’t look like spaghetti, yet, but have no fear: take a fork and scrape it up. 

Serve in bowls with your sauce of choice; I went with pesto.  Try to fool husband.  Fail.

Okay, it wasn’t horrible.  Just not everything I was expecting and more. 

But wait!  Remember when I told you to set the guts aside?  Weird, right?  No!  Because I have pumpkin guts left over from when I made my pumpkin stand for the cake pops, and that can mean one thing and one thing only:  roasted salty pumpkin seed goodness!  These are the perfect snack for study time, or movie time, or really any other time.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  • Pumpkin (and spaghetti squash) seeds
  • 1-2 T olive oil
  • salt to taste

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Separate the seeds and wash with cool water to remove any excess pumpkin goo, drain.  Coat baking sheet with a thin layer of olive oil, and spread the seeds evenly.

Sprinkle with salt, and place on the middle rack to bake for about 15 minutes or until golden, occasionally turning using a spatula to brown both sides.  Cool and store in a Tupperware for future snacking!

Now, before I go, I want to show you two things near and dear to my heart.  One you may have already heard of.  He’s a cat.  His name is Henry.  He is so cute.

The other is a crafty new little set up that Fritz and I concocted for some of my jewelry.  I had that terrible situation where you have too many necklaces in a box, and they start to become one giant knot of beads and string that threatens to break every time you have to detangle it.  So I thought of a magical idea involving a towel rod and shower curtain rings, and Fritz executed it:

Who knows why I am in PT school when I should obviously have my own public access TV craft show.  Dream big, my friends.

14 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Entrees

14 responses to “Meatless Monday: Spaghetti Squash and Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Hannah

    Dear Fritz. Hmmm…. one of those racks for Christmas. Really. (please??)

  2. ashley

    lauren, try the spaghetti squash as a side dish with some salt, pepper, and a little onion and garlic powder and a little butter. I know the butter might not be what youmre interested in, this being a healthy blog and all, but for spaghetti squash it tastes delicious this way. Give it a try, it might change your mind.

  3. That necklace holder is genius!

  4. GENIUS necklace holder. …I swear I wrote that prior to noticing the above comment, lol

  5. Pingback: Weekend Project: DIY Necklace Storage « Engineered Style

  6. Love the necklace rack – brilliant. Can I ask where you bought the rod & hooks?

  7. I love the necklace holder idea and can’t wait to find the right shower rings! The ones I’m finding do not have the “knob” on both ends…therefore slippage off the rod and slippage of the necklaces off the ring. May I ask where you got these shown here? Or what brand?

    Also, on the SS…try sauteeting in a pan for a few minutes after the harvesting from the shell:) it softens! I like mine done with black beans, tomatoes, jalopeno peppers, green chiles, (recipe called for onions) and topped with just a little bit of cheese:)

  8. oh and just saw that you named where you got the hooks in an above comment:)

  9. LOVE that necklace idea!!!!

  10. Caitlin

    Spaghetti squash with melted gouda is amazing!

  11. Pingback: The Jewellery Nightmare: Get Organized | Decor Diva

  12. Omahgah!! This necklace holder is SUCH a great idea! I’m so copying you!!!

Leave a Reply

