Crock Pot It: Spanish Rice and Sausage

Today was just one of those good days.  I slept in ’til 8:00, had one class, then babysat for the night.  Since the weather outside has turned chilly again, I bundled up the little munchkin and we took a two-mile ocean-side walk.  Seriously. The family lives near the shore, and there’s a street that runs parallel to it.  The road is swallowed by trees and it was windy, so there were piles of orange and red leaves drifting around to Charlie’s endless satisfaction.  And this beautiful day was allowed to happen so easily because of our second car.

I love that thing.

So anyway, last night I decided to break out an old friend of Fritz’s: 

We never ate slow-cooker meals when I was a kid (mom only recently discovered that particular joy), so I don’t often think to use it.  But Fritz loves it when I do, because he knows it will result in a rice-and-meat-saucy-one-bowl kind of meal, which is his ultimate favorite…mostly likely due to its portability and convenience for the next day’s lunch.  Not to mention it’s really easy to use and there’s only one pot to clean after.  Bingo!

Spanish Rice and Sausage (adapted from this recipe)

  •  1 lb sausage (we used sweet italian)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 1/2 C water
  • 1 C brown rice
  • 1/2 C wild rice
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 t red pepper flakes
  • 2 t ground cumin
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 t chili powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

This is the best part: spray the pot with canola oil or olive oil, add all the ingredients, and cook on low for four to five hours. 

 

Serve immediately.
 

Yum!  And because I’m just that nice, I’ll give you something else yummy to look at:

Tomorrow we are going to a PT-school Halloween party extravaganza, and I think that I might attempt to make scary cake pops to bring while we figure out our costumes.  I also found a recipe for some healthy ginger bars that I want to bake sometime this weekend.  Have a great night!

8 Comments

Filed under Entrees

8 responses to “Crock Pot It: Spanish Rice and Sausage

  1. Hannah

    I’m making this tomorrow….I just bought andouille sausage (my favorite smoked New Orleans sausage) and some awesome looking rice (I’ll have to send you a photo, or better yet get you some). I kept wondering if the pumpkin was going to work its way into the recipe too…

  2. sararice

    Hey Lauren! I just discovered your blog and I am super excited to start trying new recipes. I think I am going to make this sausage/rice crockpot dish today, but I just realized that in buying chicken sausage as a substitute, I bought chicken sausage that’s already cooked… what should I do about including it?

    • you can still use it the same way, just prepare yourself that it might be very crumbly when it’s all done–honestly, crockpot recipes tend to cook the crap out of whatever meat is in there anyway, so it won’t make a big difference. hope you like it!

  3. I love your blog! I have this recipe in the crock pot as I type! Keep it up 🙂

  4. Jennifer

    This sounds delicious and I want to make it soon! I just have a question about the sausage. Do you put it into the crock pot whole and break it up after it’s cooked or break it apart while it’s raw?

Leave a Reply

