Sassy and Spicy Hummus

I realized a few days ago that I have had tahini and a can of chickpeas in my cupboard for roughly two months and I have no idea what took me so long
to figure out that I can make hummus with those ingredients!  ‘Specially with another little friend I have hanging around just waiting to be incorporated in a recipe.
 

Remember these guys?

 

from a friend of my father's

Well, until a few days ago they looked like this:

 

But now they look like this:

So those bland chickpeas and tahini from the cupboard?–taken up about 30 notches into the sassiest and spiciest hummus you could desire.

Sassy and Spicy Hummus

  • 1 can chickpeas (or dried, rehydrated and cooked)
  • 1/4 C tahini
  • 1/8 C water
  • juice of one lemon
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • dash of salt and pepper
  • 1 t freshly ground cumin
  • 1 t hot red pepper flakes

 

This is quick and easy: put all of the ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.  Then eat it!

 

I like to eat hummus with carrots and other veggies instead of pita or chips because I don’t get enough vegetables in the day and I definitely get enough processed carbs.  I can’t even keep chips in the house because I love them so much that I will eat an entire bag during a half-hour sitcom.  Yeah, so I stick with the baby carrots.

I made some treats today that I’ll post about tomorrow.  Until then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers

Leave a Reply

