Meatless Mondays!? Angel Hair Pasta in Lime Cream Sauce with “Not Your Grandmother’s” Brussels

This’ll be a quick post because I need to go study soon, but it’s a good one!  I’ve been thinking lately about how to continue improving our diet, and a few weeks ago the idea of “meatless Mondays” popped into my head.  I had to consider how well that would go over with Fritz (today he sadly said “I hate Mondays”), but finally decided to just go ahead and try it out.  When asked to comment on our first weekly meatless dinner, Fritz said it was “delicious and successful”–good sign!.  We actually eat vegetarian meals a lot, but I want to try to make them a bit more standard fare.

Angel Hair Pasta in Lime Cream Sauce (adapted from Vegetarian Times, Sept ’10 issue)

  • 1 box angel hair pasta
  • 3/4 C light cream cheese
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 lime, juiced and 1 t zest
  • 1/8 C dried parsley

 

Fritz and I both love creamy cheesy pasta sauce (who doesn’t, really), but being roughly 6 million calories of fat per serving, they are a thing of the somewhat distant past.  However, when I found this recipe which substitutes light cream cheese for both of the above ingredients, I knew I’d have to try it.

Cook the pasta according to package directions (I left out any oil and salt in the pasta water because I knew there’d be a lot added later), drain, and set aside.  Reserve 1/2 C cooking water.  In a saucepan, melt the cream cheese with the oil, lime juice, zest and parsley over low heat.  Add the cooking water to the sauce, add the pasta, and toss to coat.  Season with a sprinkle of black pepper and serve immediately.

 To go with the pasta, I decided to make some brussel sprouts.  In my less-healthy eating past, I’ve always made them with a liberal amount of bacon for a great flavor.  This time, I decided to go with some Indian spices–I like to think of spices as “free taste”, as opposed to salt, sugar, and fat, all of which Americans love to use as flavor and are decidedly not free.

“Not Your Grandmother’s” Brussels

  • 10-15 brussel sprouts
  • dash of sugar
  • 1/8 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t curry powder
  • 1/8 t coriander

 

Prepare the sprouts by rinsing them, cutting off the ends, and removing the outside (more bitter) leaves.  I halve the smaller ones and quarter the bigger ones, so they crisp up on the outsides without getting too mushy on the inside. 

In a small frying pan, saute the brussel sprouts in a small dash of olive oil until they start to brown.  Add 1/8 C water and cover for a few minutes until the water cooks off.  Remove cover and add sugar to cut some of the bitterness, along with the other spices.  Cook until the spices are fragrant, then season with salt and pepper to taste.

Toss on a plate with your pasta and you are ready to go.

 

Go enjoy your first “Meatless Monday”!  See you for another vegetarian meal next week.

2 Comments

Filed under Entrees, Side Dishes

2 responses to “Meatless Mondays!? Angel Hair Pasta in Lime Cream Sauce with “Not Your Grandmother’s” Brussels

  1. Cait

    I’ve never had a brussel sprout! Should I start incorporating them into my diet? Ahh…I’ve always been scared of them.

Leave a Reply

