(Healthier) Pumpkin Spice Muffins

I bought a couple of cans of pumpkin puree the other day while grocery shopping, and spent a couple of days pondering what to make–I was leaning towards cookies until my mom reminded me about a delicious baked good that I had forgotten even existed: muffins!  I haven’t made muffins for a while, but I do know that muffins in general pretend to be a healthy food while in actuality they are just a glorified cake that you are allowed to eat for breakfast.  As I am trying to eat somewhat healthily, I searched for a recipe that had at least a few redeeming qualities.  No point in making food that you feel guilty eating, right?
(Healthier) Pumpkin Spice Muffins (Adapted from CDKitchen’s Victoria Wesseler; original recipe here)

  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 3/4 C sugar (the original recipe called for 1 1/4 C!! totally unnecessary)
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t ground cloves
  • 1/2 t freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 t cinnamon (sorry Fritz)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 C pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 C plain no-fat greek yogurt
  • 1/3 C water
  • 1/2 C raisins

 Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  I used my mixer for this, and added first all of the dry ingredients (including spices), and started mixing at a low speed while adding all of the wet ingredients.  Technically you should mix the wet ingredients in a separate bowl first (beating the eggs for some extra air) but 1) I’m lazy and 2) I like dense muffins.  So there ya go. 

Pour the batter into greased muffin tins.  I wanted to use cupcake liners to make the muffins more school-transportation friendly, which worked but the muffins do stick a little bit to the liner.  I’m guessing that’s because there’s no oil in the batter.  I also found a couple of mini-bundt cake pans that I bought at an 18-mile garage sale (yes, that’s right.  18-miles of garage sale-ing madness) for a dollar, and wanted to try them.  They came out so cute–perfect for individual desserts if I were to ever throw a fancy little dinner party in the far-away future.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool for five minutes before removing from the tin, then finish cooling on a wire rack.  A lot of recipes I searched for recommended a tangy cream cheese icing to drizzle on top, but when I tried them they were honestly sweet enough to not need it–thank goodness I went from 1 1/4 C of sugar to 3/4 C!  Though I’m sure the icing would be delicious, since I love cream cheese frosting.

I think Fritz is officially getting over his anti-cinnamon feelings, and might in fact be growing immune to it since at least half of the food I make has cinnamon in it (I just don’t always tell him).  Next up on my list of foods to make Fritz love without his knowledge is mustard, then garlic.

Since I have two practicals coming up on Wednesday and Thursday of this week, I’ll hopefully be doing tons of focused and effective studying so that I don’t have to get all panicky and nervous on Tuesday night.  We just finished the 4th season of LOST and until we request the next season from the library I don’t even have that to distract me.  More likely though, I’ll start cooking more elaborate foods then ever before and study much less than I should.  But, to get off to a good start I’m going to study a little bit right now while Fritz is outside putting the cover on our pool.  Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Desserts

Leave a Reply

