Three-Pepper Dry Rub

When I have a busy week at school, and I feel like Fritz is fading away because he hasn’t had enough “man food” for the last few days, my favorite thing to do is take a giant steak out of the freezer (thanks, Dad!…again) and make a dry rub.  This is amazing for multiple reasons: 1) The steak lasts for three days of Fritz-happy leftovers; 2) Fritz grills it, so there’s less work for me; and 3) A dry rub takes me about three minutes to put together but it makes the steak taste gourmet.  Basically this is just a win-win situation all around.

One of my favorite dry rubs is a cocoa-cumin mix (if you want to try it, it consists of cocoa powder, cumin, salt and black pepper in whatever ratio you like best), but I wanted to try something different so this time I went with a three-pepper dry rub.

Three-Pepper Dry Rub (from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook)

 

  • 1 T black pepper
  • 1 T white pepper
  • 1 1/2 t coriander
  • 1 1/2 t cumin
  • 1/2 t red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 t cinnamon

 

Combine the spices into a tupperware (this is enough for two steaks, so save some for next time!).  Dry the steak with a paper towel, and rub the spices into the meat with your fingers.  Grill it the way you like it!

 

Another thing that I love lately is New Hope Mills (go here for their website).  If you live in the Syracuse area, you need to head over to Auburn now and buy everything in the store.  Sadly, I have yet to find an equivalent place in Long Island.  I went to Whole Foods yesterday to get some baking goods and they had one shelf of overpriced flours and other baking goodies.  A sad situation.  If anyone knows of a place like that near me, pleeeease let me know.

Last time I was in Syracuse visiting the family, mom took me on a New Hope Mills shopping spree and we decided to try something new: Quinoa.

 

Quinoa is cooked like rice (I use 1 C broth and 1 C water to every 1 C quinoa), and can be seasoned any way you can imagine.  However, it has a really cool texture when cooked, and contains a higher protein content and a full set of essential amino acids.  It is gluten-free, high in iron, magnesium, and a good source of fiber.   You should really just try it.

A quick recipe idea for you to try: brown a minced onion in a T of olive oil, and add 1 C quinoa, 1 T curry powder, and salt and pepper to taste.  Cook until fragrant, then add 1 C chicken broth and 1 C water.  Cover and simmer until tender (the quinoa “uncurls” when it is fully cooked).  Add 1/2 C raisins and serve up!

4 Comments

Filed under Entrees, Side Dishes

4 responses to “Three-Pepper Dry Rub

  1. Hannah

    How did Fritz feel about his cinnamon steak? Also, how is your supply of quinoa?

    • He liked it! I think that since I’ve been making food with tons of cinnamon since the beginning of September, he’s starting to get used to–nay, enjoy!–the taste of cinnamon. Woo! And the quinoas running a little low…but I haven’t found anything to do with the spelt berries yet! any ideas? I think you might bake with it?

      • Hannah

        I was thinking of sprouting them…and then use in salad, stir fry or in sprouted wheat bread. If you use them in bread, be sure to get rid of any that don’t sprout, because after you bake non-sprouted ones they turn into hazardous buckshot like pellets…
        Hmmm it doesn’t sprout well because the hulling process destoys the seed a bit. BUT you can soak it and then use it.
        http://www.sproutpeople.com/seed/print/spelt.html

      • hmm i do like the idea of sprouted wheat bread. maybe i’ll try a handfull and see how it goes (and sift out the buckshot). I have a TON of bread recipes that I’m dying to try, but not very many days where I am home for four or five consecutive hours, so it might be a while until they all get made (spiced pumpernickel is my next goal!)

Leave a Reply

