Overnight Oats and Baked Acorn Squash

I got to experience one of my favorite things ever today–clothes shopping with a coupon.  Because even though I ended up spending $30, it would have been $40 without that gift card Kohl’s sent me.  And then they tell me at the register how much everything would have cost if I hadn’t scoured the 80% off rack and bought everything on clearance ($126 dollars!) and I get to go home and tell Fritz that I saved $96!  I mean, I practically made money while shopping today…I really should shop more often.  Way more often.

Anyway, the second time turned out to be the charm for overnight oats.  I put on my thinking cap and figured out what was missing from mine–fruit!  I love fruit in everything, so obviously that was the missing piece.  Luckily, I happened to have some raspberries leftover that I’ve been eating in plain greek yogurt (thanks Mom and Dad for picking, freezing, and sending me those lovely berries).  Now that I can deem the recipe a success, I’ll put it up for you to try!

Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C skim milk
  • 1/4 C plain greek yogurt
  • 1 t honey (or some other sweetener–I used Lyle’s Golden Syrup for Fritz’s)
  • 1 heaping t ground flax-seed
  • small handful raisins, almonds, coconut, or anything else fun and delicious (opt)
  • 1/4 C raspberries

 

Mix all of the ingredients together in a Tupperware container (convenient for easy travel in the morning) and leave in the refrigerator overnight.  Then take it with you to school/work/play, mix it up again, and enjoy!  Warning: this is incredibly filling and you might not be hungry for a long time after eating this.

 

Next I am going to try it without yogurt, and perhaps with vanilla soy milk because I know that will give it a completely different and nuttier taste.  Yum!!  For other ideas, go back to the blog that I got the idea from: Eating Bird Food.

The second recipe for you is just a quick fall/winter side dish–baked acorn squash.  Sweet, warm, and probably the only squash I liked when I was a little kid (that might have had to do with the copious amounts of sugar and maple syrup I put in it…but my taste has refined a little since then).

Baked Acorn Squash

  • 1 acorn squash, halved long ways
  • 2 t butter
  • 2 T brown sugar (okay, I still like it sweet. Sue me)
  • Dash of grated nutmeg or cinnamon

Easy, right?  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Scoop the seeds and stringy stuff out of the middle of the squash and throw ’em out.  Put the squash cut side up in a baking dish, and pour a little water into the pan to keep the skin from burning and the squash from drying out.  Score the squash in two directions with a knife, then using 1 t of butter per squash, coat the inside.  Add the sugar (and some might add a dash of maple syrup) and put on a middle rack in the oven until soft, about an hour.  Sometimes I’ll broil them for a few minutes right before I take them out to give them a pretty brown color on top.  Before serving, I grate nutmeg over the top for an extra dash of flavor.

I am very excited for this weekend because I made last-minute plans to visit my best friend in all the world (besides Fritz, duh) and one of my sisters (Hi Jen! Hi Kristen!)!  Things just kind of fell into place, and I am really happy to see both of them and their new homes.  Expect to see some food pictures of our adventures (hopefully at least one Boston Clam Chowder in a bread bowl) and some non-food pictures (Boston Aquarium?).  On another happy note, Fritz spent many hours on the phone with the Dell people, screwdriver in hand, and my mini now has a new hard drive.  Finally I can stop driving Fritz crazy blogging while he’d like to use his computer to study.  Like…right now.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Side Dishes

2 responses to “Overnight Oats and Baked Acorn Squash

  1. Ashley Benjamin

    CRAZY!!! I just made acorn squash last night too! It was delicious… Idk why I never make it more often. Have you ever tried spaghetti squash? put some onion powder, garlic power, salt, pepper and butter on it (can be microwaved super easily, so no need to use the oven), love it, I can eat a whole squash by myself lol.

  2. Jeannine :)

    Lauren,
    This is one of my favorite things to have with dinner! My dad (yes dad, not mom haha) makes it all the time in the fall and adds cinn, nutmeg, raisins, cut up apple and apple cider while its cooking…YUMMMM

    love these recipes, hopefully there will be a day when I can procrastinate enough from school and try them.
    -Jeannine

Leave a Reply

