Sunday Roast Chicken

I can’t believe it’s only been a week since last Tuesday…it feels like it’s been at least 100 days.  My school schedule this year feels super packed (even though it’s really not), and the week just crawls by.  Of course the weekend whizzes by so fast I might actually need physical therapy for whiplash.  But alas.

I made a roasted chicken on Sunday, and there is just something about roast chicken with root vegetables that just feels so comforting.  It’s also incredibly cheap!  Buying a whole chicken and some potatoes and onions is probably one of the cheapest meals you can make, and it lasts the two of us at least three meals each–the chicken itself, the chicken sandwiches, and then, of course, the chicken noodle soup (I just love soups).

Sunday Dinner Roast Chicken

  • 1 whole chicken
  • 1 large onion or several small onions, quartered
  • 4-6 small potatoes, scrubbed and quartered
  • 1/2 lb baby carrots or any other root vegetables
  • 2-3 T olive oil
  • 1 T chopped sage
  • 1 t chopped chives
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 C water

 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and set rack in the middle position.  Oil pan with a few drops of olive oil and set aside.  Clean and dry chicken (don’t forget to remove that pesky package of gizzards).  Combine the remaining olive oil, sage, chives, and salt and pepper in a small bowl.  Using your hands, rub the mixture under the skin on the breasts, being careful not to rip the skin.  This helps keep the chicken from drying out and gives the skin a nicely browned, crispy look.  Rub the remainder of the mixture over the rest of the chicken.

 

Put the largely chopped vegetables into the pan and place chicken over the top.  This helps raise the chicken off the pan and allows the air to circulate underneath it, cooking evenly.  You can also use a roasting rack.  Pour the water into the bottom of the pan to keep the drippings and vegetables from burning.  Leave the chicken uncovered while it cooks for 30-45 minutes at 375 degrees.  Turn the pan around and raise the temperature to 450 until the skin is browned and the breast reaches 170 degrees with a meat thermometer, about another 45 minutes.

 

Remove the chicken and let rest on a carving board for 15 minutes before carving.  Remove the vegetables with a slotted spoon and feel free to use the drippings to make a delicious gravy.

I’m hungry again.

I was shocked at how quickly the alfalfa sprouts grew!  We ate them yesterday in a salad, and I’m going to use them today in some chicken sandwiches for lunch.

Alfalfa Sprouts

  • Wide mouth mason jar
  • Alfalfa seeds
  • Thin mesh or screen for top (I bought a jar top made specifically for this purpose, but you can even use old nylon stockings)

 

Put 2-3 T of alfalfa seeds into the jar (I used two and probably will use less next time, because I was not prepared for the massive amount of sprouts this would produce).  Cover with water (fill the jar halfway), and let soak overnight.  Use the mesh top for the jar so the seeds have some air.

 

After the sprouts have soaked overnight, drain the water and rinse a few times.  For the next few days, rinse the seeds twice a day and leave the jar upside-down at an angle to drain all the water.  Rinsing and draining is important, because otherwise the seeds will rot or mold–and you don’t want that! 

 

Leave the seeds out of sun until the 3rd or 4th day or they will prematurely turn green.  Once they sprout leaves, you can put them in sunlight (preferably not direct sunlight) and they will turn an attractive green.  Then all you have left to do it eat ’em!

Don’t they look delicious?  I love how crisp they taste in salad.  Also check out that bowl–it’s one from our new set from Ikea. 

I can’t wait to go to yoga tonight–I always feel so refreshed after I go.  My instructor has also gotten into the ridiculous habit of giving out chocolate bars to people who actually fall asleep during the relaxation pose at the end…and judging by how sleepy I feel already, I think tonight might be my night!  Could be worth the embarrassment of having to be shaken awake by my fellow yoga-ees.

Have a beautiful day!

3 Comments

Filed under Entrees

3 responses to “Sunday Roast Chicken

  1. Hannah

    Could you teach me your magic trick of going BACK in time? (…”I think I will use less last time”…) OK, sorry – so much practice proof-reading overheads at church with you and Quee). Chicken looks AMAZING, and I’m going to try that trick of on top of veggies.

    • Mom, I love the editing because I am so bad at it! I read over things and just read what I meant to say instead of what I actually put 🙂 Love you and thanks for all the comments it makes me want to keep writing them!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Roasted Chicken–CIA version « A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

