Grilled Sausage in Foil

Hello all!  It’s been such gorgeous weather all weekend and I’ve gotten so much accomplished (except all my homework, which I promise I will do after this).  Don’t you just love that feeling?  On top of that, I actually managed to go to Ikea this morning and we bought new dishes (we’ve been jealous of the Jensen’s new dishes and I had that “need to buy something new for the house” craving that I get about, oh…every other day).  AND I’m watching a cooking show about Scandinavia as I type this and they are making the most delicious looking things.  What a good day!

I have a “Sunday Dinner” chicken roasting in the oven right now, which I will write about tomorrow or the next day, but for today’s post I wanted to tell y’all about what Fritz and I made for dinner yesterday.  It was rainyish in the morning and we spent a large part of the day watching Lost season 3, but it cleared up late afternoon and we realized that we were starving! The kind of hunger that a sandwich or various leftovers just cannot relieve.  So, I did what I always do in emergency food moments like this and sent Fritz to the grill.

Grilled Sausage in Foil

  • 1 package turkey kielbasa (You can use beef, but turkey has 1/3 the fat and just as much taste! We actually only ended up using a little more than half the package)
  • 1 large potato, scrubbed and cut into large cubes
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups green beans, trimmed
  • 1/4 C water per foil package
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

Toss all the ingredients onto a piece of foil (we split them into two packages, but it could be a single large one), and add salt and pepper to taste (that’s right, no additional oil needed here!)  Place another piece of foil on top, and roll up three of the edges, leaving one open to add the water, and then rolling the remaining edge to seal.

 

Next, place on the grill over medium heat for half an hour–no turning necessary!  However, if using higher heat (such as a campfire), turning them over may be a good idea to prevent burning on the inside.  Make sure you sealed the foil tight enough to keep the water from leaking out.

Take the packages off the grill, open, and serve.  Be careful of the steam as you open the foil–it’s hot! 

 

One of things I managed to get accomplished this weekend was hanging up some chilis to dry.  My dad gave me some from a coworker of his who grew a few too many, and I took her advice to string them up.  I’ve been cooking a lot of Indian food lately, and I know these will come in handy!

 

Cooking adventures to come:  my alfalfa sprouts, which are nearly done, black bean brownies, something called “overnight oats” I found on a blog which I have been dying to try, and the roasting chicken I need to go baste right now.  Ta-ta for now.

2 Comments

Filed under Entrees

2 responses to “Grilled Sausage in Foil

  1. Hannah

    I think I’ll make this tomorrow for Jordi – we have lots of green (and yellow) beans, potato and onion from the garden, and some andouille sausage (a New Orlean’s version of kielbasa) that needs a recipe. I’m sure Jordi will be appreciative.

  2. Sarah

    I don’t like kielbasa… but those pictures have convinced me that maybe I actually LOVE kielbasa!

Leave a Reply

