Shuck it! Corn Chowder

As I said before, I wanted to make French onion soup this week with the leftover bread I had but our bottomless pit cat thwarted that plan.  Apparently while I was happily asleep, dreaming of cheesy oniony soup, Henry ate through the plastic and sampled the entire loaf as if it was a giant corn-cob of cat treats.  Thanks, Henry.

Luckily, I made some soup last week that I wanted to write about anyway and it would probably be good to give Fritz some solid food.  To continue with my fall theme of late (hey, I’m nothing if not consistent), I made my first ever corn chowder.  A success!

Corn Chowder (Adapted from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook)

  • 6 ears of corn, shucked and rinsed
  • 4 ounces chicken or turkey, cooked and chopped
  • 1 T canola or olive oil
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 3 T all-purpose flour
  • 2 C chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 C skim milk
  • 2 red potatos, scrubbed and cubed
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 C heavy cream
  • 1 t minced fresh thyme
  • 2 T minced fresh parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

To prepare the corn, cut the kernels from two of the ears and set aside.  Grate the remaining ears against the large holes of a box grater into a bowl, and scrape the ears with the back side of a butter knife to get every last bit of pulp.  This helps to release starch from the corn, which will thicken the chowder.

 

Cook the onion in the oil over medium heat until soft, about five minutes.  Add the chicken and garlic and cook for 30 seconds or until fragrant.  Stir in the flour and cook for one minute, then slowly stir in the broth and milk, scraping up any browned bits.  Add the potatos, bay leaves, thyme, and grated corn.  Bring to a simmer and cook until the potatos are nearly tender, about 15 minutes.

 

Stir in the remaining corn kernels and cream (I omitted the cream and simmered a bit longer to allow soup to thicken in the hopes that my waist wont). Simmer until the corn kernels are tender but still a bit crunchy, about five minutes.  Remove the bay leaves and add parsley, salt, and pepper to taste before serving.

 

 My whole life I thought I hated corn chowder.  This might be the first time since I’ve gotten married that I’ve willingly admitted I was wrong about something!

Speaking of marriage and shucking, I have a great story. (Shame on you! I said shucking!).  One of the first times Fritz met my grandfather, Grandpa Charles handed him a bag of corn and told him to “go shuck it”.  Maybe it’s a South African thing, but Fritz had never before heard that term and was needless to say quite shocked by Grandpa’s audacity.

So, get yourself some corn and get shucking!

2 Comments

Filed under Soups/Stews

2 responses to “Shuck it! Corn Chowder

  1. Hannah

    I have to say that I am disappointed to not see a photo of the bread bag/cat fiasco. Soup looks great!

  2. Pingback: Herbs–Garden Edition | A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

