Get Saucy With It (Applesauce)

Lately I’ve been trying to bake a bit healthier in an attempt to have less salt, sugar, and fat in our diet (and I guess less calories would be nice too).  A few different people have mentioned to me that you can substitute applesauce for oil when you bake, and I have a couple recipes in mind that I’d like to try this with–black bean brownies (you heard right!) will probably be the first one.

Since I have some apples leftover from apple picking, I thought I’d start by making my own applesauce. It’s probably the easiest thing to do ever, and it’s really yummy (especially warm).  So here’s the first step towards healthier eating!

Homemade Apple Sauce

  • 6 apples (I used Cortland)
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1 tsp sugar (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional–I used less because although I love cinnamon, I don’t want to taste it in my baking)

 

Peel and cube the apples (you can leave the peel on for pink applesauce, but it has to be sieved after to get rid of the peel, which is more time consuming), and add water, sugar and cinnamon.  Cover and simmer on medium-low heat for about 20 minutes until apples are cooked.

 

While you are waiting for the apples to cook, it’s probably a good idea to eat my favorite snack–apple slices and peanut butter.

 

As an aside, I recently switched from regular to natural peanut butter when I saw the ingredient list went from 20 or so words I can hardly pronouce to “peanuts, salt”.  Even though its a serious pain in the butt to mix in the oil the first time you open natural peanut butter, I learned that if you keep the jar in the fridge rather then at room temperature it’s less likely to separate and you should never have to mix again. 

Anyway, back to the applesauce.  Let it cool and then puree in a blender, adding water if you want it to be less thick (but you probably won’t).  

 

Sometime over the weekend I’ll try a baking applesauce-oil substitution and let you know how it goes.  Also, I started a project today growing my own alfalfa sprouts (thanks to my mom, who spent some of her earlier years a dedicated hippie), and in a few days I’ll post the results.  If you have any healthy or weird substitution ideas, I would love to hear them!

6 Comments

Filed under Snacks

6 responses to “Get Saucy With It (Applesauce)

  1. Hannah

    Hahahaha…..wait, I have to toss my long unruly hair out of the way and untangle my beads from my macrame plant hanger….and where are my shoes? The last time I wore them was walking through the parking lot on the way to the Dead concert. Very funny, young lady 🙂

  2. Sarah

    I love this! I’m so glad you decided to do this blog! You inspire me to cook… uh… later. =D

  3. Sarah

    I don’t know why that has a picture of my father in law… super weird.

  4. Sarah Midgley

    Hey Lauren! Here are some substitutions I have been making in my cooking/baking. First, try using truvia or stevia all-natural sweetener instead of sugar. It has zero calories, but comes from a plant so it doesn’t take fake. I actually prefer the tastes of it over sugar now and use it in almost everything.

    Also, try using almond milk instead of regular milk. It has the consistancy of 2% or whole milk, less calories than skim milk ( about 40-60 per serving, depending on what kind you get), and it tastes AMAZING. I even use it in my coffee now.

    As for fall recipes try these out:

    Breakfast:
    1/3 c. Oat bran ( Quaker )
    1/3 c. Water
    1/3 c. milk ( again I use almond)

    Heat and mix together ( I even just pop it in the microwave to save time)

    Then when its out add 1/3c/ Pumpkin puree ( mix well)
    top with chobani greek yogurt, cinnamon and enjoy!

    You can even add fruit, nuts, or maple syrup if you so desire

    and…. lastly try these out:

    Pumpkin Bars with Crumb Topping

    Ingredients:
    * 1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
    * 1 1/4 cups flour
    * 1/2 tsp salt
    * 1/2 tsp baking soda
    * 1/2 cup chopped pecans
    * 1/2 cup butter ( or even smart balance omega 3 buttery spread. Its better for your heart 😉 )

    Filling:
    * 1 15.5 oz canned pureed pumpkin
    * 2/3 cup skim milk ( or almond)
    * 1/3 cup brown sugar
    * 1 egg
    * 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice

    Directions:

    * Preheat oven to 375*. Combine oats, flour, 1/2 cup sugar, salt, baking soda, pecans, and butter. Beat until crumbly. Reserve about 1 1/2 cups of the crumb mixture and press remaining mixture into a lightly buttered 13×9 baking dish. Bake for 10 minutes.
    * Prepare filling: Beat pumpkin, milk, 1/3 cup brown sugar, egg, and pumpkin pie spice until smooth. Spread filling over the crust. Sprinkle remaining crumble mixture on top. Bake for a 25 minutes. Cool and cut into bars.

    • Sarah, those pumpkin bars sound amazing! I’m going to try those really soon…also a lot of times I drink vanilla soy milk in my tea (it tastes nutty, and i love it, which I assume the almond milk does too–I’m gonna have to try that next time I’m at the store). Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

