Peach and Goat Cheese Bruschetta and Mulled Apple Cider

Tuesday is definitely my favorite weekday this semester–I don’t have to go to class until 2:00, but I wake up when Fritz leaves to go to school at 8:00.  That leaves me with six hours to do anything that I want.  Which is usually cook and eat.

Fritz and I went home to visit my parents (Hi Mom! Hi Dad!) this weekend, and that means that we came back with tons of groceries from New Hope Mills and fresh produce from the garden.  I made vegetable soup for dinner last night which was a big hit with Fritz despite the fact that it contains no meat (no meat!? how is a man to survive??!).  I used potatos, onion, peas, and tomatos all from the garden and you can really taste the freshness.

 

But now that it’s Tuesday (aka Laurenday), I get to make what I feel like eating while I read or watch tv before I have to go to Prosthetics and Orthoses later.  And today that was peach bruschetta and mulled apple cider.  I found this easy-as-peach recipe from Better Homes and Garden while I was visiting my parents, and I happened to have goat cheese in the fridge from when I made pizza a while ago, so I knew I’d have to make it.

Peach Bruschetta

  • 2 ripe peaches
  • 1 loaf French bread
  • 1 C crumbled goat cheese
  • honey

 

Toast slices of French bread in the oven (cut on a diagonal) and spread with softened goat cheese.  Layer slices of ripe peach (room temperature is best) and drizzle with honey.  Try not to eat all at once.

 

 

To satisfy my undying hunger for all things fall (Hey, it’s 78 degrees today! That definitely counts as fall weather) I used up the rest of a gallon of apple cider we had left over from camping. I only had enough for one serving of mulled cider so I just eyeballed the ingredients.

Mulled Apple Cider (1 serving)

  • 2 C apple cider
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • dash of ground cloves or 1-2 whole cloves
  • 1 T brown sugar

 

Warm apple cider in a saucepan over medium heat, and add cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, cloves, and brown sugar.  The spices can either be added directly to the cider and strained later (this is what I did) or put into a cheesecloth and removed prior to serving.  Simmer for 20 minutes, strain and serve immediately.

 

 

A seriously delicious morning.

Before class I’ll be heading over to a friend’s new apartment for a visit (apparently she has painted her room lime green), and then tonight I have yoga to finish off the day.  I think with the leftover French bread and pile of onions from home I might have to make French onion soup later in the week (if Fritz can handle yet another soup), but I’ll throw in a steak first to keep him pacified.  Au revoir!

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Beverages

2 responses to “Peach and Goat Cheese Bruschetta and Mulled Apple Cider

  1. OK, so now I’m REALLY drooling. How do you manage to have so much awesome food lying around? When you and Fritz come to visit (hint, hint!) I’ll have to hide all of my mac n cheese, canned soups, and *ahem* frozen pizzas and bust out some serious gourmet cooking. Most likely, it’ll be all the recipes I’ve stolen from you!

    Keep the posts coming! Love you, seeester!

    xxx -E

  2. Hannah

    I’m loving the chatty, easy going, conversational style. A quick, enjoyable and entertaining read. You manage to show intelligence and humor without being too vacuous or too heavy handed. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

